UTAHBEARDEDRUNNER: The beginning

thefamMy wife had started a WordPress blog and had said I too should begin one to keep track of some life events and memories.

To get this started, I thought I would start off by touching briefly on the name “UTAHBEARDEDRUNNER”.  My wife, bless her heart, has been my rock.  Without this woman, I would be a lost soul.  She challenges and pushes me to strive to better myself and be a better person.  When her and I first met, I had ran every now and then, not very consistently though.  After marriage, I hardly if ever ran.  And I recall a day, where we decided to go out on a little run, and I kid you not, I had not ran a 1/4 of a mile and I was already winded and over it.  But, as time continued on, I found my way back and have been able to reach a level of running I never saw myself doing.  I love it.  The early morning Saturday long runs, the midweek runs after work, and watching the mileage accumulate in my running log I keep on ilovetorun.  Running has provided me with countless memories, trials, and personal gratification that couldn’t be purchased or given.  The feeling of knowing you have dedicated hours upon hours, and mileage that would make others cringe, for a single weekend morning where you get a silly medal and race bib for logging 26.2 miles in a downpour/windstorm, it’s something not many will understand, and for those who do understand..it’s nice knowing there are others out there who share my obsession.

So, that’s the running part of the name, the “bearded” derives from no matter how many times I have shaved my face in the past and said “I just don’t know if I could ever grow a beard that long again…”, here I am, going on 8 months sporting a beard that I just don’t know if I can see my life without ever again.  To say it has become a part of me sounds weird, but, it has become a part of me.  A good luck charm, an accessory, whatever it may be, I don’t mind it sticking around.  So, even if I do shave in the future, it tends to always find it’s way back, so I figure I might as well accept it and make it a part of my life moving forward.

Over the course of the next few entries, I will touch on The 2016 Ogden Marathon we just ran (oh, the excitement that will reveal…stay tuned), upcoming training for the Revel Big Cottonwood Canyon in September, yard projects, mountain biking adventures, and more.

-UTAHBEARDEDRUNNER

 

Author: UTAHBEARDEDRUNNER

I'm 30 years young, father of two dogs that run the house. I enjoy all the little things in life, like running, snowboarding, reading, yard work, camping, hiking, & binge watching The Office on Netflix.

1 thought on “UTAHBEARDEDRUNNER: The beginning”

Leave a Reply

