July 4th, 2016 5k & July 9th 13.1 miler

Whats more American than running a 5k bright and early on a day off from work?

Lace & I went up to Park City to run a 5k before meeting up with her family for a bike ride from Kimball Junction to Park City main street to watch the 4th of July parade.

There were 980 people who ran this 5k, which was probably the biggest 5k I personally have ever been a part of.  Right before the race started, the lady standing right in front of Lacey and I, decided right then and there, was the absolute best time for her to pee.  In front of everybody.  Directly onto the ground right under her.  Lacey and I both looked at each other in awe, and I’m pretty sure my brain gears didn’t sync back up for about 2-3 minutes into the race.  I even forgot to start my watch to time the race.  When you gotta go…

I ended up taking 38th overall, which I felt very good about since 3 days before that I had ran 30 miles to celebrate my 30th birthday.  The kid that finished in front of me threw up twice the moment he crossed the finish line.  Classic end of race puke-sprint.

IMG_0764

Today, was a half marathon length of distance for our long run.  Got this going at about 0715, felt great for about the first 9 miles, then I started to have just a little bit of knee pain.  The sun was quite stout this A.M., I always say I should have started the run earlier, but that never happens.  I watched a turkey get scared as I was coming down the street, he made a break for the field, but a stationary fence blocked his path and he ended up running into it and couldn’t jump high enough to clear it.  Gave me a good laugh, but I truly hoped he wouldn’t seek revenge and chase after me.  Perhaps he’s saving that for next time?

IMG_0763

Author: UTAHBEARDEDRUNNER

I'm 30 years young, father of two dogs that run the house. I enjoy all the little things in life, like running, snowboarding, reading, yard work, camping, hiking, & binge watching The Office on Netflix.

Leave a Reply

