North Logan Half Marathon 7.16.16

Leave the water belt at home.

This morning started at 0400, which on a Saturday morning after a busy work week, was an eternal struggle.  The drive to Logan was a little over an hour to make things worse, but once we got there, it was smooth sailing.  Well, besides the fact that Lacey was given the wrong packet/ bib number when we got there, but we will touch on that later.

How the morning went was how I wouldn’t mind every race to go.  We loaded onto the buses at 0630, drove to the start line, warmed up the joints for 15 minutes, and then the race started around 0707.  No sitting around, no wasted time, just right to the point.

At the beginning, Lacey and I were sizing up the competition like we normally do, you know, just looking at people and by superficially looking at them, you can get a pretty good idea just how well that person will do that race.  Some people, just have that, “I’m fast” look to them.  So the gun goes, and right from the get go, I had one guy in front of me.  The pace he was running was far faster than I’d normally run, but I thought I’d give it a go, even though the first little bit of mileage was some downhill that I probably got a little carried away on (my Garmin said my fastest mile was a 6:20, which is a pace I haven’t ran since I was in elementary school I’m sure…if ever actually).  A little after mile 2, a guy with a water bottle belt passed me, and I’m sorry, but if you have a water belt on a aid station supported race..I just have a hard time with that.  So I already was in disbelief this guy was passing me, so I just continued to truck along and keep the 1st place guy on my radar.

map

Mr. water belt didn’t last long, right after the mile 2 marker, there was a very steep hill that lasted about a mile and a half, and Mr. water belt was unable to continue running the pace he had been.  So, it was back to following 1st place again.  He stayed in front of me by about .15-.20 of a mile a good majority of the race, until about mile 11 or 12, then he just laid it on and kicked on those after burners.  I couldn’t finish as strong as he did, guy had some serious wheels.  He finished in 1:32, I ended up with a 1:34:19, which would be a PR for myself, on a course that was FAR from easy.

The last few miles, telling myself I was sitting in 2nd and still scooting along was exciting.  That in itself was already hard to believe.  I’m still in disbelief that I’m at where I am now, from where I used to be with my running a few years ago.  I will swear on the training programs I have been following, that as long as you make a conscious effort to follow them and put the mileage in, you’ll literally watch yourself evolve into a runner you wouldn’t have guessed you could be.

I still have a very long way to go, but this was inspiring, humbling, and motivating all in one.  I cannot wait to see where my running journey takes me in the future.

N.L.half

P.S. that gal next to me, my “freak show” wife as she was referred to as by the lady who finished behind her..Lacey finished the race as the first female overall with a 1:39 time.  At the packet pick up, she was given someone else’s packet and bib number.  So, race is over, she takes first in women’s, award ceremony underway, the race director is calling out the winners overall, and calls out a much different name for the first female runner.  Lacey and I both looked at each other, confused, then the race director notices my wife and says, isn’t that you?  Nope.  So she had her name called out incorrectly, in a shining moment of glory, in a race she ran her heart out in.  We laughed about it, saying she got Steve Harvey-ed.  She got a $100 gift card to Altra footwear on a pair of shoes, which I’m sure she won’t have any trouble spending in the very nearest of futures.

It’s such an honor to be affiliated to this “freak show”, as she continues to compete, support, and motivate me to strive to become a better person, athlete, and husband.  Watch out ladies, she’s a freak show.

Author: UTAHBEARDEDRUNNER

I'm 30 years young, father of two dogs that run the house. I enjoy all the little things in life, like running, snowboarding, reading, yard work, camping, hiking, & binge watching The Office on Netflix.

Leave a Reply

