East Canyon half marathon 8.27.16

For our training program for our upcoming marathon, this weekend our long run was supposed to be 12 miles…we thought, might as well put on another 1.1 miles and get some hardware out of it.  Signed into a first year race in Morgan, Utah, and it actually wasn’t too bad.  The race director was an interesting fellow, met the guy at packet pick-up the night before, needless to say, it was quite the cluster F getting our bib and shirt for the race the next day.  The race was gorgeous, ran along the East Canyon reservoir, and for the most part, the race was a gradual downhill with a few unexpected rollers that kept your legs in check.

I was able to run a personal best 1:29:26 time, averaging 6:50 miles.  Took first in my age group, and I believe 4th overall.  The times at the end were jacked, so I just ended up going off my watch time, but my watch showed a distance of 13.0 miles when I hit the finish pad, so I ran around the parking lot to get that extra .1 of a mile in to call it legit.

First year kinks, but regardless, I am ecstatic with the outcome.  This training session has noticeably changed and evolved the way I run and how I feel while running.

Author: UTAHBEARDEDRUNNER

I'm 30 years young, father of two dogs that run the house. I enjoy all the little things in life, like running, snowboarding, reading, yard work, camping, hiking, & binge watching The Office on Netflix.

Leave a Reply

