When you can, it sucks. When you can’t, it’s suckier.

It has nearly been 3 weeks since I put any miles down onto the pavement, and it’s been quite the revelation.  There were times in the past where I was able and pain free, where I would look at a training schedule and curse at the weekly mileage, trying to make excuses as to why I didn’t want to run ALL the miles that day, or why the weekend run took so long.  In the last 3 weeks, it was all I could do to stay off my injured ankle/leg.  I would see people running down the street to and from work, and I would be so envious of what they were doing.  My wife, who is training for her 1st Boston Marathon appearance at the current moment, is logging miles left and right, and me sitting idly by is excruciatingly painful, physically and mentally.  I went on a short jog today with Boscoe, our Catahoula dog, and it was his first legitimate jog outside of 2017.  He really did quite well @ 9min mile pace, but currently he is wiped out laying on the floor.

boscoe

I’ve taken things I enjoy doing for granted.  3 weeks really isn’t that long of time, but it was enough to make me miss the time I spent running.  Not just the running aspect, or the exercise, but the mental escape.  With all the little worldly things going on in one’s brain, it’s nice to check out and have control of nearly everything.  Thoughts, feelings, brainstorming, ideas, scheduling, tasks, upcoming events etc.  I didn’t quite understand how much I banked on those 5, 8, 15 mile runs to get everything in order and dissect my next few days.

I have been to my doctor and an athletic trainer/myotherapist to get my leg/ankle assessed.  Doc has me on a steroid for a few days to see if its just inflammation in my ankle.  Sean Wayne, who works with Active Myotherapy down in the BDO in Ogden, kind of opened my brain into a completely different area of assessment and recovery.  My ankle is still pretty painful, but where I was having pain in the middle of my leg, he was saying it’s contributed from my calf and hip.  Not sure if my gait is all of my issue, or the hard pavement, but my right leg was once again shorter than my left.  The last time I had it set back into place by another therapist.  This time, Sean used massage to loosen the muscles up that have become adjusted from the running.  I remember standing up from the table and feeling almost zero pain, had I been alone I may have cried due to have only been experiencing pain for the last few weeks.

Self assessing is such a horrible road.  How much reading and researching I did on what it could/may have been, from a stress fracture, tendon tears, sprains, it was depressing knowing I have signed up for a couple races and I feared I wouldn’t be able to run this spring.

So, universe, you win.  By throwing a life curve ball my direction, you have presented a very real situation to me, first hand, on no matter the weather, how tired I am, how many miles the training log says to do that day, or just my poor attitude, buck up, suck it up, lace it up.

*UPDATE 4/23/17*

I have been in a walking boot for nearly 3 weeks.  The pain that was present was affecting my normal walking and I finally tossed in the towel.  At the current moment, there is still a little bit of pain in the medial shin and ankle, but nothing quite what it was back on the mornings in Hawaii where every walking step was like someone was pushing little needles into my ankle.  I did go on a 3 mile treadmill run on Friday night, and an amazing 4 mile run yesterday morning that was very slow, but like I’ve said before, just being on the road was such an incredible moment.

Author: UTAHBEARDEDRUNNER

I'm 30 years young, father of two dogs that run the house. I enjoy all the little things in life, like running, snowboarding, reading, yard work, camping, hiking, & binge watching The Office on Netflix.

Leave a Reply

